Alabama Personal Injury Guide

Alabama Personal Injury Cases & Accident Info

Alabama, just like any other state, has its share of accidents, negligence and other incidents that can turn your life upside down. Are you facing a new normal now? Maybe you're wanting to help out a friend who really needs support? If you had an accident or are sorting out the possibilities of bringing a personal injury suit in the state of Alabama, Enjuris offers answers.

Legal Rights Defenders - FREE CONSULTATION 24/7

Alabama Personal Injury Law: The Basics

Alabama statutes online

This is where you'll find the state of Alabama's laws, which determine how long you have to bring a lawsuit, any caps on damages you can claim, and so on.

Alabama statutes

To read:

Alabama's car accident statutes of limitation

In Alabama, you have two years to bring a lawsuit for personal injuries and two years to bring a lawsuit for property injuries. Keep this in mind when filing your claim.

Your whole lawsuit doesn't need to be finished in two years; you just need to have filed the initial paperwork.

Car accident lawsuit time limits by state

To read:

 

Alabama damage caps

Damages are what victims collect as compensation after a loss or injury. This is either an award from the jury after deliberation or a settlement between parties prior to the completion of litigation.

Alabama used to have limits on damages in personal injury cases, specifically medical malpractice. However, these caps were deemed unconstitutional by the Alabama Supreme Court in Moore v. Mobile Infirmary Ass'n, 592 So. 2d 156 (Ala. 1991). As of this writing (May 2018), there are no damage caps in the state, excluding punitive damages.

Punitive damages are intended to punish a defendant who acted with malice or ill intent. In Alabama, one must illustrate "clear and convincing evidence" (which is a higher bar than it sounds) that the defendant acted with "deliberate or conscious malice." The caps on this type of recovery are three times the amount of compensatory damages or $1.5 million, whichever amount is greater.

Other civil actions besides personal injury have a limit of three times the amount of compensatory damages or $500,000, whichever is greater. See Ala. Code § 6-11-21.

If a claim is against a municipality, such as a town, city or county, there is a hard limit of $100,000 in recovery. See Ala. Code. § 11-47-190.

Type of Damages Type of Cases Limits Statute

Economic (medical bills, lost wages, etc.)

Personal Injury

None

N/A

Non-economic damages (pain & suffering, mental anguish, etc.)

Personal Injury

None

N/A

Punitive damages (to punish for malice or ill intent)

Personal Injury

3x the amount of compensatory damages or $1.5 million, whichever is greater

Ala. Code § 6-11-21

Exceptions

Claims against a municipality, such as a town, city or county

Personal Injury/Civil

$100,000

Ala. Code. § 11-47-190

Worker's compensation

Personal Injury/Civil

$843 per week

Ala. Code. § 25-5-68(c)

Products liability

Personal Injury/Civil

No pain and suffering

Ala. Code. § 6-5-520

Accident Worksheets

Your First Meeting with an Attorney
A worksheet to prepare for your first meeting with a personal injury attorney – what to bring, what they'll ask
Download in PDF format

Documents & Evidence Checklist
Checklist of 30 items to help you prepare for making a personal injury or accident claim
Download in PDF format

Personal Injury Attorney Interview Sheet
Worksheet with questions to ask a personal injury attorney to help determine if he or she will be a good fit for your case
Download in PDF format

Damages/Expenses Worksheet
Damages worksheet to track expenses for your injury claim (medical treatment, property damage, lost wages, prescriptions)
Download in PDF format

Post-Accident Journal Form
Sample accident journal/diary to help you document the effect on your daily life
Download in PDF format

Accident Report Form
Sample post-accident report form to keep in your glove box - fill out at the scene or as soon as you can after a car accident
Download in PDF format

Hiring a lawyer in Alabama

Consultations for personal injury representation – at least the first meeting, during which you and the attorney are deciding upon an official relationship – are usually free of charge. After that, lawyers work on contingency. This means that their office will receive a third of whatever the client receives, plus office expenses.

If the case goes to trial, sometimes the number rises to 40% of the eventual reward or judgment. These numbers aren't set in stone, so don't be taken aback if your lawyer suggests something different. Do be taken aback if those numbers are very, very different.

Find a lawyer in Alabama

Personal Injury Law Basics

Accident & personal injury case/claim basics: read about money, insurance, liability, negligence, timing, lawsuit, settlements. Read more

Connect to top-rated injury lawyers using Enjuris' comprehensive national directory.

Help me find the best Alabama attorney near me

Law libraries in Alabama

There's a lot you can achieve on your own in a law library. They have specially-trained legal librarians who are eager to help, and every book on case law, statutes and regulations should be available for your perusal. They usually even have computers with complementary LexisNexis or Westlaw accounts that you can use for legal research. Check it out: