I've been in a car accident - what now?     Free e-Book     Get your copy
Oregon Personal Injury Guide

Oregon, with its seven diverse geographical regions, offers so much to look at that you can almost be forgiven for not paying attention to the road. However, that's what leads to car accidents, personal injuries and negligence cases. Then you have to figure out liability and blame, and nobody likes doing that. Maybe it was you who was hurt, or maybe it was a family member or friend. Whatever happens during your Oregon journeys, if you need guidance for your personal injury case, Enjuris can help.



Oregon Personal Injury Cases & Accident Info

Oregon statutes online

This is where you’ll find the Oregon Revised Statutes, which are published every two years. The website has details about how long you have to bring a case, monetary limits on personal injury cases (which are also known as damage caps), and other important information.

Oregon Revised Statutes

To read:

Oregon's car accident statutes of limitation

In Oregon, you have two years to bring a personal injury and six years to bring a property damage claim. That means you have only two years to file your paperwork with the court, not that your case has to be completed in that time frame.

Oregon's Statute of Limitations

To read:

Hiring the right Oregon lawyer

The initial meeting with a personal injury attorney is normally free. (Note that other legal specialties, such as domestic relations law or intellectual property law, are different.) After that, lawyers work on a contingency basis, which means that they will take a third of the eventual reward, plus whatever office expenses they incur along the way.

If your case goes to trial, that percentage could rise to 40% of the eventual reward or judgment. These numbers aren't determined by law, so don't be surprised if your lawyer suggests something else.

Find a lawyer in Oregon

Want to hire a lawyer and need some help? Check out some of our best articles:

Cases of interest in Oregon

These are some cases of legal significance that came out of Oregon's courts:

  • Muller v. Oregon, 208 U.S. 412 (1908): This was a sex discrimination and labor law case in which the working hours of women were restricted under the pretense of protecting their health. Curt Muller, the owner of a laundry business, was fined $10 for making a female employee work more than 10 hours in a single day. The Supreme Court decided that a woman's physical structure and maternal obligations placed her at a disadvantage for such hard labor.

  • Gonzales v. Oregon, 546 U.S. 243 (2006): This was Oregon's assisted suicide case, also known as "dying with dignity." The Supreme Court ruled that the U.S. Attorney General cannot enforce the federal Controlled Substances Act against physicians who prescribe medications to terminally ill patients who seek to end their lives.

  • Oregon v. Nix, 355 Or. 777 (2015): The police, acting on a tip, found dozens of emaciated animals on the defendant's farm, along with many dead animal bodies. He was indicted on almost 100 counts of first- and second-degree animal neglect and convicted of 20 counts. This case actually designated animals as victims under the law, which was a victory for animal lovers in the state of Oregon.

Data and statistics

Here is some intriguing data about Oregon:


Oregon law libraries

There are many issues you can solve without the help of a lawyer. If you don't know where to start, a law librarian can help you. They are usually legally trained, and they can help you both with texts or online research engines like LexisNexis or Westlaw.


Wait! Before you go...

Interesting facts about Oregon

Here are some facts about Oregon -- like how it has the only "Scenic Bikeway" program in the nation!