Georgia Personal Injury Guide

GA personal injury case & accident info

Georgia is home sweet home for many people — but as in all states throughout the U.S., it has its fair share of personal injury accidents caused by negligence. Understanding local and state laws, statutes, and codes is an important step before filing a personal injury lawsuit.

Enjuris is here to help by providing real answers to common questions about injury law in the Peach State. Browse through the resources below to learn more about what to do after an accident, how to find a lawyer, and much more.

Scholle Law
Scholle Law
Duluth, GA Personal Injury Lawyer Pursing justice in all types of personal injury matters.
Free consultation available.

(866) 972 5287 Attorney profile
Gerber & Holder Law
Gerber & Holder Law
Atlanta, GA Workers' Compensation Attorneys Award-winning attorneys, dedicated and driven. Free consultation.

(678) 802-8650 Attorney profile

Georgia personal injury law: the basics

Georgia statutes online

This is where you’ll find Georgia's laws. The website has information regarding how long you have to bring a case, damage caps on personal injury claims, and other helpful information.

Georgia Code Online

To read:

Georgia's car accident statutes of limitation

In Georgia, you have two years to bring a personal injury claim, but four years to bring a property damage claim. That doesn't mean the whole lawsuit must be completed in that time frame; all that means is the paperwork has to be filed with the court before that time is up.

Car accident lawsuit time limits by state

To read:

Accident worksheets

Your First Meeting with an Attorney
A worksheet to prepare for your first meeting with a personal injury attorney – what to bring, what they'll ask
Download in PDF format

Documents & Evidence Checklist
Checklist of 30 items to help you prepare for making a personal injury or accident claim
Download in PDF format

Personal Injury Attorney Interview Sheet
Worksheet with questions to ask a personal injury attorney to help determine if he or she will be a good fit for your case
Download in PDF format

Damages/Expenses Worksheet
Damages worksheet to track expenses for your injury claim (medical treatment, property damage, lost wages, prescriptions)
Download in PDF format

Post-Accident Journal Form
Sample accident journal/diary to help you document the effect on your daily life
Download in PDF format

Accident Report Form
Sample post-accident report form to keep in your glove box - fill out at the scene or as soon as you can after a car accident
Download in PDF format

Hiring a lawyer in Georgia

The initial meeting with a personal injury attorney is normally free of charge. (Keep in mind that other legal specialties, such as patent law or estate planning law, are different.)

After that, lawyers work on a contingency fee, which means that they will receive a third of the eventual reward, plus office expenses. If your case ends up going to trial, the percentage could rise to 40% of the eventual reward or judgment. These numbers aren't set by law, so don't be shocked if your lawyer suggests something different.

Find a lawyer in Georgia

Is time ticking on your personal injury case?

What are the time limits for personal injury compensation claims?

Generally, from 1-6 years, most commonly 2 years, starting from the time you were injured. Read more

Connect to top-rated injury lawyers using Enjuris' comprehensive national directory.

Help me find the best Georgia attorney near me

Law libraries in Georgia

There are certain issues you can solve without the help of an attorney. If you don't know where to begin, a law librarian can help you. They are usually legally trained, and they can help you both with texts or online research engines like Westlaw or LexisNexis. Georgia has many, many law libraries to help you:

Need money now?
Pre-settlement funding for plaintiffs of personal injury lawsuits
Contact us toll-free at (800) 908-6860 or Apply Online