x

Kansas Personal Injury Guide

KS personal injury case & accident info

Kansas, even though it is beautiful and rural, has its fair share of negligence cases, personal injuries and car accidents. Perhaps it was you who was hurt in a life-changing way, or maybe it was a friend or family member who needs help right now.

Whatever happened, if you need guidance for your personal injury case, Enjuris has the answers.

Representatives answer calls for attorney services. Dial 800-734-4134

Kansas personal injury law: the basics

Kansas statutes online

This is where you’ll find Kansas's laws. The website has details about how long you have to bring a case, damage caps on personal injury cases, and other important information that you will need.

Kansas Code Online

To read:

Kansas's car accident statutes of limitation

In Kansas, you have two years to bring a personal injury claim and a property damage claim. That doesn't mean the whole personal injury lawsuit has to be completed in that time frame; it just needs to be filed with the court.

Kansas's Statute of Limitations

To read:

Need a lawyer?

Browse our national directory of top-rated accident and injury attorneys in Kansas.
Find a Kansas personal injury lawyer

Accident worksheets

Your First Meeting with an Attorney
A worksheet to prepare for your first meeting with a personal injury attorney – what to bring, what they'll ask
Download in PDF format

Documents & Evidence Checklist
Checklist of 30 items to help you prepare for making a personal injury or accident claim
Download in PDF format

Personal Injury Attorney Interview Sheet
Worksheet with questions to ask a personal injury attorney to help determine if he or she will be a good fit for your case
Download in PDF format

Damages/Expenses Worksheet
Damages worksheet to track expenses for your injury claim (medical treatment, property damage, lost wages, prescriptions)
Download in PDF format

Post-Accident Journal Form
Sample accident journal/diary to help you document the effect on your daily life
Download in PDF format

Accident Report Form
Sample post-accident report form to keep in your glove box - fill out at the scene or as soon as you can after a car accident
Download in PDF format

Hiring a lawyer in Kansas

The initial meeting with a personal injury attorney is normally free of charge. (Note that other legal specialties, such as criminal defense law or intellectual property law, are different.) After that, lawyers work on a contingency basis, which means that they will receive a third of the eventual reward or settlement, plus whatever office expenses they incurred.

If your case ends up going to trial, the percentage could rise to 40% of the eventual reward or judgment. These numbers aren't set by law, so don't be surprised if your lawyer suggests something else.

Find a lawyer in Kansas

Is time ticking on your personal injury case?

What are the time limits for personal injury compensation claims?

Generally, from 1-6 years, most commonly 2 years, starting from the time you were injured. Read more

How to Find the Right Car Accident Attorney for You

So you've been involved in a car accident and think you may have a case. How do you find the right attorney to help you?

Read our complete guide to finding the right injury attorney for your case. Read insights from Enjuris attorneys and lawyers across the USA on when and why you need to hire a car accident attorney. Learn more

Need a lawyer?

Browse our national directory of top-rated accident and injury attorneys in Kansas.
Find a Kansas personal injury lawyer

Law libraries in Kansas

There are lots of issues you can solve without the help of a lawyer, surprisingly enough. If you don't know where to start, a law librarian can help you. They are usually legally trained, and they can help you both with texts or online research engines like LexisNexis or Westlaw.