x
LIMITED OFFER: 50% Off* Contributor Profiles in April. Use code contributor50 during checkout. Join now
Ask an attorney

What would be my charges for a fleeing the scene accident?

Asked by user in Ohio.

I am a minor (16), and I scraped the side of a car in a parking lot.

Answered by Enjuris Editors:

Thank you for the question.

In Ohio, drivers are required to stop at the scene of an accident and exchange their contact information with the other driver. If the vehicle is unoccupied, drivers are required to leave a note on the unoccupied vehicle.

Fleeing the scene of an accident that caused minor damage to another vehicle is a misdemeanor and carries the following penalties:

  • 0-6 months jail time
  • $1,000 maximum fine
  • License suspension of at least 6 months
Free downloads

Accident Report Form
Sample post-accident report form to keep in your glove box - fill out at the scene or as soon as you can after a car accident
Download in PDF format

Enjuris Partner Attorney Spotlight
Representatives answer calls for attorney services. Dial 800-734-4134

Legal Rights Defenders

Workers' Compensation and Personal Injury Lawyers

FREE CONSULT 24/7

(800) 734-4134

HABLAMOS ESPANOL

CALL NOW
Do you have a question?
Ask a Lawyer

It’s free, anonymous and confidential.
Car Accident, DUI, DWI
Previously Answered Questions