Asked by user in Michigan.
It's been almost 3 years and I really need to get my car fixed.
In Michigan, the statute of limitations for damage to property is 3 years (see Michigan Compiled Laws § 600.5805). In other words, you have 3 years from the date the drunk driver hit your car (or the date you discovered that the drunk driver hit your car) to file a personal injury lawsuit.
I would recommend meeting with a Michigan personal injury attorney immediately and explaining that the statute of limitations is going to expire soon. The attorney should be able to quickly file a personal injury lawsuit, which can later be amended if necessary. Alternatively, you can file a lawsuit in small claims court (so long as the claim is for $6,500 or less).