Asked by user in Connecticut.
It's been 11 months since I backed into someone's car and they are just now giving me an estimate. It's absolutely outrageous for the little amount of damage I did to the car. Can they still try to take me to court even though it's been so long?
Every state has a statute of limitations. The statute of limitations dictates how long a person has to file a lawsuit. In Connecticut, the statute of limitations for most cases based on negligence is 2 years. This means the person has 2 years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit.
So to answer your question: Yes, the other driver can still take you to court even though it has been 11 months since the accident.
If the other driver ultimately files a lawsuit (or an insurance claim), you can fight the reasonableness of the damages claimed. To do so, you may want to consider reaching out to an attorney.